Coelacanth Literary Journal

Over the past twenty years, Coelacanth (See-la-canth) (formerly known as the Sheridan Edwards Review) has grown from a small, photocopied, in-house project to a professionally produced literary journal. Winner of a number of national awards, including five from the Rocky Mountain Collegiate Media Association, the journal has been a springboard for many student writers such as Kristen Bomhoff, James Love, Aaron Leis, Michelle Parrish, Anna Perleberg, Phil Seuper, and Rebekah (Baldridge) Valentine, all of whom have gone on to publish in or become editors for other magazines.

Coelacanth offers two annual literary prizes–the Sister Madeleine Kisner Prize in Poetry and the Jeanne Lobmeyer Cárdenas Prize in Short Fiction–which are judged by nationally known writers. Past judges have included Doris Betts, Bruce Bond, Scott Cairns, Albert Goldbarth, Jeanine Hathaway, Paul Mariani, Christopher Moore, Virginia Stem Owens, Vicki Santiesteban, Tim Seibles, Richard Spilman, Jeanne Murray Walker, Marge Simon, and others.


Coelacanth accepts undergraduate student submissions year-round by regular mail and by e-mail. The journal is published annually each Spring. Short stories, poetry, short plays, and creative nonfiction manuscripts should be sent to Coelacanth at the following address:

[email protected]