Transfer Credit Policy

Newman University campusTransfer Credit Policy  

Credit is accepted from other accredited institutions of higher education, approved standardized examinations (CLEP, DANTES, AP, etc.), and specifically approved professional programs. The maximum amount of community college transfer credit which may be applied to a baccalaureate degree is 62 credit hours. (Sixty-two (62) credit hours from a four-year college/university are required for a bachelor’s degree.) This limit, however, may vary depending on the program in which the student is enrolled.

Correspondence courses may be transfer credit from other higher education institutions and are limited to 15 credit hours. The number of transfer hours is posted on the student’s Newman transcript. Individual courses are not listed but the number of credit hours from each school attended is listed. The recorded cumulative grade point average for the transfer student is calculated only on credit earned through Newman University.